European Regional Taskforce Awards & Recognition

European Award for Nursing Excellence

Sigma's European Awards for Nursing Excellence are based on the society's dedication to fostering high professional nursing standards, recognizing excellent achievement, emerging leadership, and inspiring creative work. Awards are conferred to nurses each biennium for their contributions in the fields of education, research and nursing practice.

Presentation will be at the European Regional STTI conference 2020 in Portugal. Also a time slot to present.
Complimentary Registration full conference, 400 euro’s Sponsorship from the European Development Fund will be awarded to the successful recipient for travel costs.

European Award for Excellence in Research Award

The Excellence in Research Award recognizes a nurse, or group of nurses, who demonstrates self-motivation and fosters a practice environment that promotes and values creativity in research, questioning, data-based decision making, access and synthesis of new knowledge, and the use of innovations to improve practice and clinical outcomes.
Nomination Timeline 1st June till 1st December Corresponding email:


All Sigma members in Europe, or a nursing team with at least one Sigma member, are eligible to be nominated for this award. Active European members and European chapters of Sigma are entitled to submit a nomination.


Nomination should show evidence of meeting the following criteria:
1. Conducts distinguished research in nursing
2.Effectively communicates nursing research findings
3. Show written publications related to nursing theory and/or nursing research

Submission Requirements
A complete nomination consists of:
• Supporting narrative, including examples of the above criteria (500 to 800 words maximum)
• A letter of support from the regional chapter supporting nomination
• Nominee’s short curriculum vitae describing work, education, and biography (1 to 2 pages)
• Letter of Acceptance – Statement from one team member agreeing to attend Sigma’s Biennial European Conference if selected.


Members of the European Regional Taskforce Awards & Recognition
Nina Ekman, Sofia Macedo, Christina Martins, Margo van Mol, Mirko Prosen & interim Chair Marie-Louise Luiking.


Português English
Registered users

Still not registered?


To receive more information about the event, click here.