European Regional Taskforce Awards & Recognition

European Award for Nursing Excellence

Sigma's European Awards for Nursing Excellence are based on the society's dedication to fostering high professional nursing standards, recognizing excellent achievement, emerging leadership, and inspiring creative work. Awards are conferred to nurses each biennium for their contributions in the fields of education, research and nursing practice.


Presentation will be at the European Regional STTI conference 2020 in Portugal.Plus a time slot to present.
Complimentary Registration full conference, 400 euro’s Sponsorship from the European Development Fund will be awarded to the successful recipient for travel costs.

European Award for Excellence in Nursing practice Award

The Excellence in Nursing practice Award recognizes nurses and their interprofessional partners working at the bedside.

Any European Sigma member, working at the bedside in nursing practice is eligible to be nominated for this award. All European active members and European chapters of Sigma are entitled to submit a nomination.
Nomination Timeline 1st June till 1st December Corresponding email:


Nomination should show evidence in the practice environment that meet at least 4 examples of the following criteria:
1. Demonstrates compassionate, hands-on-care
2. Utilizes evidence-based care at the bedside
3. Demonstrates mutuality with patients and families
4. Promotes individualized plans of care
5. Exhibits exemplary interprofessional partnerships in their clinical care setting (If available, evidence in an appendix)
6. Acts as an inspiration to colleagues, patients, and families

Submission Requirements

A complete nomination consists of:
• Supporting narrative, including examples of the above criteria (500 to 800 words maximum)
• A letter of support from the regional chapter supporting nomination
• Nominee’s short curriculum vitae describing work, education, and biography (1 to 2 pages)
• Letter of Acceptance – Statement from one team member agreeing to attend Sigma’s Biennial European Conference if selected.

Members of the European Regional Taskforce Awards & Recognition
Nina Ekman, Sofia Macedo, Cristina Martins, Margo van Mol, Mirko Prosen & interim Chair Marie-Louise Luiking.


Português English
Registered users

Still not registered?


To receive more information about the event, click here.